Creative Buzz

Just another WordPress.com site

Vintage and Retro Shoes

Shoes glorious shoes just love shoes.  As a little girl I would put on my mum’s shoes my favorite were a pair of shiny taupe colored pointy toed heels. Well after all these years I am still a wee girl. I was really sad when someone told me; when you stop growing you begin to shrink. I thought oh no as I only grew to just under five feet. This will give you an idea of how important high heeled shoes are to me. The platform style shoes of the 70s were never off my feet.

It was with difficulty I gave up on very high heels when I became ill a few years ago. I still do need a heel. If I wear flat shoes I feel as if I’m falling backwards. I am so glad the designs for comfortable shoes are now excellent and fashionable. But I fondly remember the days when I worked in Sydney’s Macquarie street my great delight was saving up to buy my next pair of totally impractical shoes viewed in a trendy boutique. Those were the days. So it is with great joy I am looking at designer vintage and retro shoes.

Mood Board created by Rosena on sampleboard.com

Years ago women’s feet were a lot smaller than they are today. (There are some advantages to being petite)  Very few large vintage shoes are available. But there are companies who reproduce vintage style shoes. One such company is www.remixvintageshoes.com .

Some of the designers to look out for when searching for vintage and retro shoes are Salvatore Ferragario who was a shoe designer for the film stars of the 1920s. His most famous shoe is the rainbow platform shoe. Jeffery Campbell Salvatore recreated this and other 1930s wedge shoes in the 1970s.

Mood Board created by Rosena on samplebaord.com

During the 1950s Andrea Pfister designed the famous ‘Homage to Picasso’ shoe. Roger Viver designed shoes for Christian Dior during the 1950s. Maud Frizon started to create handmade shoes in the 1970s. Manolo Blanhnik who started designing shoes for famous fashion houses in the 1970s is famous and known today for his creations for the TV character Carrie Bradshaw.

For a great article by an Aussie on vintage shoes you can go to this link http://circavintageclothing.com.au/category/shoes-2/

Leave a Reply

