Creative Buzz

Just another WordPress.com site

Art, Interior Design Style, Personality Types, Color and Song

When I was studying art (painting, drawing, sculpture….) I made an interesting discovery although I love art I missed working with people so a few years later I transferred to interior design. A career in interior design is a brilliant way of combining artistic flair with the ability to work well with people. I have always had a fascination with how people tick and over the years have studied the subject on a number of occasions. Having an understanding of others has been very helpful in my work life.

Mood Board created by Rosena on SampleBoard.com

So I thought this month I would revisit Interior Design with Personality in Mind. I have written a number of articles on the topic and have also covered the subject in a few blog posts. I will not cover all the ground covered in this blog but will give you the links relevant to this blog so you can find out more on this very interesting theory if you want to.

I have also studied public and community health. One day I plan to do more research into the health benefits of interior design. To me all these issues are linked.

4 Personality Types Sangs are life of part types

Basically there are four main personality types; sanguine, choleric, phlegmatic and melancholy. We usually have a dominant personality type and then have a mix of the other personality traits. The first personality type I want to consider in this blog is the sanguine.

This is the life of the party outgoing sort of person. Then tend to talk, smile and laugh a lot. Some studies estimated about twelve percent of the population have sanguine personalities.

4 Interior Design Styles

A number of years ago I divided the numerous interior design styles into four main categories. I have given each style a name; Ethnic Cultural, Mini Modern, Enviro/Natural and Traditional/Classic. I then worked out this theory; particular personality types would find one of these interior styles the most comfortable and suitable to live with. I have since discovered others have also had similar theories.

Ethnic Cultural Interior Design Style

The Ethic Cultural interior design style I believe would most suit the sanguine. This style is dramatic, bold, warm, interesting and the objects selected tell a story. The interior design items selected could be from China, India or any other ethnic source. The sanguine person likes to have activity and drama so this is why I think the style would be the most suitable.

Sunny yellow that’s me

Over the years I have conducted numerous workshops on the personality types. As a way of helping the participants remember the types I envisaged each personality type as a color. I see the sanguine as sunny and bright so if they were a color it would be yellow.

From Cindi Lauper ‘Girls just want to have fun’ to ‘Sangs just want to have fun’

I also came up with a song for each personality and would sing this to the participants of my workshops. Instead of ‘Girls just want to have fun’ I would sing ‘Sangs just want to have fun’. Participants told me using colors and songs really did help them to remember the different personality types. More on this interesting topic will be covered in the next few blogs.

Some Links for more information on this topic

If you visit the Articles Interior Design & Decor link on the right you will find articles on Interior Design With Personality in Mind

You may find this quick easy quiz fun & helpful Personality Quiz A5

Designers Service with a Smile wins the Sanguine every time http://wp.me/p1jrSa-H  blog post

How to Sell Design Ideas with Personality in Mind http://wp.me/p1jrSa-C blog post

Leave a Reply

